European Union (EU)

Originally founded as a common market for six nations in 1957 by the Treaty of Rome, the EU was formerly known as the European Community. A common currency - the euro, the aim of a single market for goods and services and a political alliance throughout its member countries are the uniting principles behind the union.

Audience Confirmation

By clicking 'accept' I acknowledge that this website uses cookies and other technologies to tailor my experience and understand how I and other visitors use our site. See 'Cookie Consent' for more detail.

  • Other Morningstar Websites
© Copyright 2020 Morningstar, Inc. All rights reserved.

Terms of Use        Privacy Policy        Cookies